top of page
Zana Botes Hero

Das Hartmann-Zebra
Equus zebra hartmannae

Hartmann Zebra hunting in Namibia with Zana Botes Safari
Hartmann Zebra shot placement

Das Hartmann-Zebra kommt nur in Namibia vor. Das auffälligste Merkmal der Bergzebraarten ist ein quadratischer Hautlappen oder Wamme am Hals, der bei den Männchen am besten entwickelt ist. Bergzebras haben am ganzen Körper schwarze und weiße Streifen, mit Ausnahme ihres Bauches, der weiß ist und Streifen, die sich an den Beinen fortsetzen.

Bergzebras haben Mähnen mit kurzen Haaren, die aufrecht vom Hals stehen. Die Streifen an ihren Körpern ziehen sich bis zu ihren Mähnen fort. Bergzebras haben auch ein Haarbüschel am Ende ihres Schwanzes.

Hartmanns Bergzebras leben am liebsten in kleinen Gruppen von 7-12 Individuen. Sie sind agile Kletterer und können in trockenen Bedingungen und steilem Bergland leben.

Bergzebras sind am frühen Morgen und am späten Nachmittag am aktivsten. Sie verbringen bis zur Hälfte der Tageslichtstunden mit der Nahrungsaufnahme. Bergzebras leben in Herden, die aus einem erwachsenen Männchen (Hengst), einem bis fünf erwachsenen Weibchen (Stuten) und ihren Jungen bestehen. Der Hengst ist das dominierende Mitglied der Herde. Manchmal schließen sich Herden zu temporären Gruppen von bis zu 30 Individuen zusammen.

 

Mit unglaublichem Seh- und Hörvermögen. sie erkennen leicht alles, was sich aus der Ferne nähert. Somit eine sehr schwierige und spannende Jagd.

bottom of page

Zana Botes Hero

Hartmann Zebra Hunting Safari in Namibia
Equus zebra hartmannae

Hartmann Zebra hunting in Namibia with Zana Botes Safari
Hartmann Zebra shot placement

The Hartmann’s Zebra can only be found in Namibia. The most distinct feature of mountain zebra species is a square flap of skin or dewlap on the throat which is best developed on the males. Mountain zebras have black and white stripes all over their bodies except their stomachs, which are white and stripes that continue down the legs.

Mountain zebras have manes of short hair that stand upright from their necks. The stripes on their bodies continue up to their manes. Mountain zebras also have a tuft of hair at the end of their tails.

Hartmann's mountain zebras prefer to live in small groups of 7-12 individuals. They are agile climbers and are able to live in arid conditions and steep mountainous country.

Mountain zebra are most active in the early morning and late afternoon. They spend up to half of the daylight hours feeding. Mountain zebra live in herds consisting of one adult male (stallion), one to five adult females (mares) and their young. The stallion is the dominant member of the herd. Sometimes herds come together to form temporary groups of up to 30 individuals.

 

With incredible eyesight and hearing. they easily spot anything approaching from a distance. Thus providing a very difficult and exciting hunt.